2.1 Provinces and territories of Canada, dates of admission to Confederation, legislative processes by which admission was effected, present area and seat of government

Province, territory or district Ontario ¹ Quebec ² Nova Scotia	Date of admission or creation		Legislative process	Present area km²	Seat of provincial or territorial government
	July July July	1, 1867 1, 1867 1, 1867	Act of Imperial Parliament — The British North America Act, 1867 (Br. Stat. 1867, c. 3) and Imperial Order in Council, May 22, 1867	$\begin{cases} 1068582\\ 1540680\\ 55491 \end{cases}$	Toronto Quebec Halifax
New Brunswick Manitoba ³	July	1, 1867) 15, 1870	Manitoba Act, 1870 (SC 1870, c. 3) and Imperial Order in Council, June 23, 1870	650 087	Fredericton Winnipeg
British Columbia	July	20, 1871	Imperial Order in Council, May 16, 1871	948 596	Victoria
Prince Edward Island	July	1, 1873	Imperial Order in Council, June 26, 1873	5 657	Charlottetown
Saskatchewan ⁴	Sept.	1, 1905	Saskatchewan Act, 1905 (SC 1905, c. 42)	651 900	Regina
Alberta*	Sept.	1, 1905	Alberta Act, 1905 (SC 1905, c. 3)	661 185	Edmonton
Newfoundland	Mar.	31, 1949	The British North America Act, 1949 (Br. Stat. 1949, c. 22)	404 517	St. John's
Northwest Territories*	July	15, 1870	Act of Imperial Parliament — Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (Br. Stat. 1868, c. 105) and Imperial Order in Council, June 23, 1870	3 379 683)
Mackenzie*	Jan.	1, 1920		r1366193	Yellowknife
Keewatin* Franklin*	Jan. Jan.	1, 1920 1, 1920	Order in Council, Mar. 16, 1918	\$590 931 1 422 559	
Yukon Territory ⁷	June	13, 1898	Yukon Territory Act, 1898 (SC 1898, c. 6)	536 324	Whitehorse
Canada				9976139	

^{&#}x27;The area of Ontario was extended by the Ontario Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (SC 1912, c. 40).

*Saskatchewan and Alberta created as provinces in 1905 from the area formerly comprised in the provisional districts of Assinibola, Athabaska. Alberta and Saskatchewan established May 17, 1882 by minute of Canadian Privy Council concurred in by Dominion Parliament and Order in Council, Oct. 2, 1895.

Parliament and Order in Council, Oct. 2, 1893.

By an Imperial Order in Council passed on June 23, 1870 pursuant to the Rupert's Land Act, 1868 (Br. Stat. 1868, c. 105), the former territories of the Hudson's Bay Company known as Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territory were transferred to Canada effective July 15, 1870. These territories were designated as the North-West Territories by the Act of SC 1869, c. 3, and as the Northwest Territories by RSC 1906, c. 62. By Imperial Order in Council of July 31, 1880 (effective Sept. 1, 1880), all British territories and possessions in North America not already included within Canada and all islands adjacent thereto (with the exception of the Colony of Newfoundland and its dependencies) were annexed to Canada and these additional territories were formally included in the North-West Territories by SC 1905, c. 27. The province of Manitoba was formed out of a portion of the territories by the Manitoba Act, 1870 (SC 1870, c. 3) and a further portion was added to Manitoba in 1881 by SC 1881, c. 14. The provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan were formed out of portions of the territories in 1905 and in 1912 other portions were added to Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec.

"By SC 1876, c. 21, a separate district to be known as the District of Keewatin was established and provision was made for the local government thereof. The Act was expressed to come into force by proclamation. It provided that portions of the District might be reannexed to the North-West Territories by proclamation; in 1886 a portion of the District of Keewatin was re-annexed and in 1905 the entire Keewatin District was re-annexed. The Act of 1876 was never proclaimed. By Order in Council of May 8, 1882 the provisional districts of Assiniboia, Saskatchewan, Alberta and Athabaska were created for the convenience of settlers and for postal purposes. By Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895 the further provisional districts of Ungava, Franklin, Mackenzie and Yukon were created. The boundaries of these provisional districts were re-defined by Order in Council of Dec. 18, 1897. Subsequently the Yukon Territory was formed, the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan were created and other portions of the territories were annexed to Quebec, Ontario and Manitoba. By Order in Council dated Mar. 16, 1918 (effective Jan. 1, 1920) the remaining portions of the Northwest Territories were divided into three provisional districts known as Mackenzie, Keewatin and Franklin.

The provisional district of Yukon established in 1895 was created a judicial district of the North-West Territories by proclamation issued pursuant to Sect. 51 of the North-West Territories Act (RSC 1886, c. 50) on Aug. 16, 1897 and, by the Yukon Territory Act (SC 1898, c. 6), was declared to be a separate territory.

^{*}Extended by Quebec Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (SC 1912, c. 45).

³Extended by the Extension of Boundaries Act of Manitoba, 1881 and the Manitoba Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (SC 1912, c. 32).